Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Indoor groups named for 2010/11 season

The line-up for the group stages of the National Indoor Trophy were released earlier this week with initial rounds of the competition in December and January, leading to the finals weekend in the NBA on Ferbuary 12 and 13, 2011.

Lisburn will be a new venue for the competition as two men’s and two women’s team from Ulster enter the competition – Belfast Harlequins and Annadale in the former; Armagh and Knock on the ladies side.

Cork C of I, meanwhile, are the sole Munster representatives on the men’s side and face a tough group against reigning Irish champions Pembroke along with Corinthian and Monkstown and last season’s surprise package Clontarf.

TRR and YMCA – both semi-finalists at least for the past couple of years – are the front-runners in Group III with former kingpins Avoca and Railway waiting in the wings.

On the women’s side, Railway begin their title defence with ties against Pembroke, Clontarf and Old Alex. Hermes travel to Lisburn to play the two Ulster sides and Trinity while 2009 winners Galway tussle with Avoca and Glenanne.

Men’s groups
Group I (Lisburn): Glenanne, Suttonians, Belfast Harlequins, Annadale
Group II (Dublin): Pembroke, Clontarf, Cork C of I, Corinthian, Monkstown
Group III (Dublin): TRR, YMCA, Avoca, Dublin Uni, Railway Union

Women‘s groups
Group A (Lisburn): Hermes, Armagh, Knock, Trinity
Group B (TBC): Galway, Avoca, Glenanne
Group C (Dublin): Railway Union, Pembroke, Clontarf, Old Alex

No comments: