Monday, June 9, 2008

Passmore finalises Setanta squad

David Passmore announced his selected eighteen to compete in the Setanta Sports Trophy at UCD in Dublin, June 11 to 15.

Iain Walker and Mitch Darling have a chance to nail down a squad position as does Loughborough's Johnny Jackson from the original panel of 35. Passmore has also taken this chance to select two co captains, Ronan Gormley and Mark Gleghorne who will take charge for at least the next two tournaments, The Setanta Sports Trophy and Celtic Cup.

Commenting on his selection Passmore is very much aware of the quality of the countries involved in this tournament “This tournament marks the start of a new cycle, an era for this particular group. The quality of opposition provides the perfect scenario to assess where we are at against some in form teams preparing for the Olympics.”

Passmore has two minor injury worries in the camp with Watt and Burns both suffering from slight foot injuries but at this stage is hopefully on full recoveries as they remain in the selected eighteen.

Men’s Senior Squad: Karl Burns, Ronan Gormley (Co-C), Michael Watt, Stephen Butler, Mark Gleghorne, John Jermyn, Eugene Magee, Graham Shaw, David Hobbs, Mitch Darling, Timothy Cockram, Phelie Maguire, Iain Lewers, Geoff McCabe, Tim Lewis, Iain Walker (GK), David Harte (GK), John Jackson

No comments: