Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Own-goal ruling for EHL

Pembroke and Glenanne will have an additional new rule to get their head around in next season’s EHL with a trial law for the 2009/10 competition which makes own goals now a possibility.

The new rule states that “a goal is scored when the ball is played within the circle by an attacker or touches the stick or body of a defender within the circle and does not travel outside the circle before passing completely over the goal-line and under the cross-bar.”

This varies significantly from the current FIH ruling, meaning that now if a defender inadvertently deflects a cross from outside the circle into the net then a goal would be given.

The organisers believe the move will “clear up any debates about whether or not an attacker got a touch in the circle”.

The two Irish sides will play their first round matches either on October 9-11 or October 23-25. The full draw for the group stages, though, has yet to be made.

18 comments:

Anonymous said...

Does anyone know when the draw is made ??

Alex said...

it would give us goalkeepers a bit more clarity too. now if anybody touches the ball inside the circle we know we have to stop it going in, rather than hoping the umpire saw who touched it last!

Anonymous said...

Fair play to both teams for qualifying and I hope they do well and do Ireland proud. However having watched the EHL closely this season I think they will do well to make any sort of impact

Anonymous said...

Stephen did u leave out a "not" in the last part of the third paragraph...ie a goal currently will not be given!

Anonymous said...

Pretty good rule. Could cause a bit of confusion/dislike when the self pass was introduced. Now look at it....... every man and his dog loves it

Anonymous said...

So effectively this means that if a ball is crashed into the circle and clips a defending players foot at the edge of the circle and goes past the keeper then a goal is awarded. I thought there was concern among rule makers at the number of injuries occuring from crash balls into the circle. This would seem to advocate the crash ball as any touch inside the circle by either stick of defenders body can result in a goal. I'm all for clarity but this seems like the officials are abdicating their responsibility to make a decision. With the ability to challenge a decision at EHL surely there is no real need for this rule change.

Queso said...

I think it will make it more dangerous as you will now have incentive just to crash the ball into the D... and any touch in the circle will be a goal

Walkz said...

That law doesnt seem very clear or is it just me?'If an attacker plays the ball within the circle'-does that not mean if he is already in the circle as opposed to hitting it into the circle from outside?Maybe im just reading it wrong...

Bango said...

I thought the idea of changing the free-in ruling (ie that a free-in must now be passed sideways before going into the circle) was to reduce danger and crash-balls into the circle.

This seems to be antithesis of this new idea. I guess the idea of this if for non-hockey tv viewers who wonder why it isn't a goal when the ball goes into the net.

Anonymous said...

Doesn't this just mean if the ball has touched anyone in the circle before it goes over the line it is a goal.

Anonymous said...

June 18, 2009 1:26 PM - think that's exactly it.

Anonymous said...

What if a defender decides to take a slap hit from a hit-out situation and takes it from within the circle. He Miscues and sends it past his own keeper is that a goal?
I suppose the real question to be asked is why this rule is being introduced?

Derek said...

My inital reaction was that this seems like a good rule change. But thinking about it further its a pretty dramatic change to the way hockey works. Now an attacker can score from a ball played outside of the circle.

My concern on this is that this is the first step on allowing attackers to shoot from anywhere. As a goalkeeper I wouldn't be to worried about this most players find it difficult enough to hit the target from inside the circle. As an outfield player I would be concerned for my safety.

Anonymous said...

The way I'm reading it is that it only counts if the ball was originally struck from inside the circle no?

Anonymous said...

No I don't think you are right as it uses the word "or" not and. Therefore it does not have to be hit by an attacker within the circle at all.

Anonymous said...

Def agree and think it will just lead to more 'hit and hope' play, and that players will start to crash balls in more to see if it gets a deflection. Not the best to watch or play with!!

Anonymous said...

if it aint broke dont fix it!and at the moment nothings broken!

Anonymous said...

What if an attacker takes a shot from outside the circle, and the ball deflects in off the keeper ??
As I understand the new rule - A goal would stand.