Monday, May 25, 2009

Magee and Clarke honoured by their peers

Eugene Magee and Emma Clarke received the top honours last Saturday night at the ESB Irish Hockey Awards as they were named the Player’s Player of the Year by their respective international team-mates.

Leinster players won the rest of the individual awards with Rovers' pairing Neil Lyons and Kyle Good taking the men's Senior Club Player and U-18 player respectively while Railway's Jean McDonnell was honoured with the women's club player title. Hermes starlet Niamh Atcheler claimed the women's U-18 prize.

Pembroke's Craig Fulton was awarded Coach of the Year, adding yet another gong to the unprecedented four titles claimed in 21 days with his work in restructuring his club's 3rd to 7th teams training systems also cited.

Carol Metchette took title of Umpire of the Year, a deserved winner after her success at the Beijing Olympics.

Leinster and Loreto's Sally Ann Fanagan scooped Volunteer of the year, while Grace Redmond received the President's Award for her services to Irish Hockey.

Cookstown were awarded Club of the Year title for the first time while Munster's Cork C of I were announced as the 2009 Youth Club. Greenfields Fintan O'Flynn was awarded Development coach of the year.

No comments: