Friday, January 29, 2010

Wesley girls triumph in Junior A League

Wesley's junior girls bridged an eight-year gap to claim the school's first A league title since 2002 at Grange Road yesterday, prevailing on penalty strokes 4-2 ahead of Muckross after the sides were locked at 1-1 after extra-time.

The Ballinteer school had made the early running with Sophie Pratt and Lauren McGrane combining excellently but the defensive stylings of Shannan Clarke and goalkeeper Marilyn Egan kept the sheet clean and Muckross grew into the game to take control in the closing stages of normal time with Jane O'Brien and Sarah Twomey leading the assault.

The decibel level was immense with a boisterous crowd making it difficult to hear the umpire's whistle, most notably on the final hooter when Muckross netted but the official's whistle had blown several seconds earlier.

The Donnybrook school opened the deadlock four minutes into extra-time when Clarke's short corner shot was deflected to the net by Alex Hernan but Wesley were on terms inside four minutes when Pratt swept home first time from player-of-the-match McGrane's cross, having originally nicked the ball on the right wing.

A high quality penalty competition ensued with Pratt, McGrane, Jennifer Anderson before Kate Reidy saved, leaving Clare Samuel to settle the tie and hand Wesley their 18th Junior A league crown since its inauguration in 1925.

* Elsewhere, Mount Anville beat St Raphaela's 6-0 on Wednesday to take their place in the second round of the Leinster School's Senior Cup where they will meet Loreto, Foxrock.

** For the full match report and photos, check out next Thursday's Evening Herald.


Anonymous said...

Go on Wesley. . .

Anonymous said...

Well done