Thursday, May 27, 2010

Monks eye U-21 Cup three in-a-row

Avoca U-21 Cup final: Monkstown 7 TRR 0
Monkstown retained the Avoca Cup at Whitechurch with an emphatic win over Three Rock Rovers on IHL Sunday.

The game was effectively over in the first four minutes when an attacking blitz saw the Town put three past Stephen West.

Strikes from a solo run by Frank Ryan, an opportunist reverse by Theo Kirwan and a deft flick by Andrew Ward stunned Rovers in the early stages from which they struggled to recover.

Richard Sykes added the fourth before the break with a rising penalty corner as the Town continued their slick, fast-flowing hockey.

Rovers did come out stronger in the second period, with Jamie Haughton crashing off the crossbar while Tom Samuel drove his side forward.

But a strong Town first-team midfield of Stephen Cole, Cian Speers and Billy McEnery were always in control and they added three further goals.

A fine deflection by David Watkins, a tap-in from Sam O,Leary and a rocket to the roof by Andy Ward completing the tally.

Captain Nick Dee – who is the only player dropping off for next year’s three in-a-row bid – collected the U-21 cup from Leinster Branch President John Flannery, a title first won by Monkstown in the competition’s inaugural year in 1972.

No comments: