Friday, April 23, 2010

FIH release new WCQ schedule

The FIH has released the revised schedule for the Women’s World Cup Qualifier following the confirmation of new arrival dates of Ireland, Scotland and Malaysia.

The tournament will still run within the original dates, 24th April – 2nd May, but with a round robin format as opposed to the group stages culminating in a final’s day.

The Irish will now begin their campaign on Wednesday against Malaysia before facing Scotland on Thursday and playing a double-header against Chile and Australia on the weekend.

The tournament will begin as originally scheduled with Chile facing Australia on Saturday afternoon - the Aussies beat Chile 4-0 in a warm-up fixture earlier this week.

A live webradio broadcast in English from the World Cup Qualifier in Chile, run by The SportsZone, will be hosted on Santiago Radio. For more information on what times and what games will be covered, go to (Thanks to our friends at for the heads up.)

Ireland match schedule:
Wednesday, April 28:
Ireland vs Malaysia, 3.30pm (8.30pm Irish time)
Thursday, April 29: Ireland vs Scotland, 1.30pm (6.30pm Irish time)
Saturday, May 1: Ireland vs Chile, 12pm (5pm Irish time)
Sunday, May 2: Ireland vs Australia, 10am (3pm Irish time)

* For the full, revised schedule, click here

No comments: