Wednesday, April 21, 2010

O'Malley strike earns Minor Cup; Avoca win Neville Davin crown

Glenanne V claimed the Minor Cup for the fifth time last Sunday at the Maws, with John Roche (pictured joining a list of club legends including Brendan Carr, Austin Stack and Terry Cooney to lift the title they last won back in 1992.

They shaded their tie with Fingal IV 1-0, Ryan O’Malley getting the vital goal from an Eddie O’Malley assist in the second half after a scoreless first period which featured plenty of short corners.

Avoca, meanwhile, made up for their playoff setback on Saturday afternoon to secure the Neville Davin Cup – a first senior cup title since winning the Irish Senior Cup in the mid-90s – as they beat Bray 5-3.

Stephen Brownlow scored a pair of drag-flicks and Will Aylmer made it 3-0 at the break from another corner. The lead was extended out to 5-1 by Enda Gallanagh and Brownlow’s third goal before John Egan and Simon Cox pulled back two late goals in the closing stages.

Minor Cup final:
Glenanne V 1 (Ryan O'Malley) Fingal IV 0

Neville Davin Cup final:
Avoca 5 (Stephen Brownlow 3, Will Aylmer, Enda Gallanagh) Bray 3 (Simon Cox 2, John Egan)

* For more of Daniel McSweeney's photos from the Minor Cup final between Glenanne V and Fingal IV, click here


sheepz said...

Uncle to Nephew connection for the Glenanne goal. Great to see

The Hooded Claw said...

Stephen- Great work on all the news and updates. Tough job but great to see all the local/club/branch/national news as well as EHL & International stuff on the same site.

This year the blog has outdone itself. Consistent & quality match reports, the addion of great photos from Derek, Vincent and Adrian, the EHL reports as well as all the fundraising and events that Leinster Clubs are doing.

If you havn't already won any Irish Blog awards you certainly deserve to do so!

Well done and keep up the good work. Hoepfully you will get a couple of nice donations to help you on the way.