Saturday, April 3, 2010

History making Swords slice through Division Five

Swords hockey club enjoyed their most successful season ever since joining the Leinster leagues back in 1980 with the first team moving up to division four in style following an unbeaten campaign.

Indeed, the club fielded three times for the first time in its history with the top two sides earning promotion. The firsts, coached by Adrian Henchy in his second year, had a remarkable season, suffering only one defeat – in the cup to YMCA – ending with an impressive goal difference, aided by Stephanie Jones’ work between the posts.

Cerrie Byrne captained the side while the defence was marshalled by player of the year Fiona Walshe who also weighed in with plenty of corner goals.

Leann Wood conducted affairs in midfield while Sorcha Murtagh was named the club’s most improved player. The goal;s were shared around between Siobhan McKittrick with Marion O’Brien, Rachel Jones, Aisling Corby all netting, with Brede Orohoe the creator-in-chief down the right flank.

Henchy said of their achievement: “it was a massive squad effort, not just this season but over a few seasons with every player making a vital contribution which led to this, going unbeaten which was phenomenal. All the players worked so hard and showed great hunger in every game and with this squad there’s no reason we can’t challenge in division four next season.”

No comments: