Saturday, March 22, 2008

Glenanne 5-0 Slavia Praha

Glenanne got their European Trophy campaign back on track today in Montrouge, Paris as they overcame an ill-disciplined Slavia Praha side in Paris today.

The Czech side had three men yellow carded and together with a vastly improved Glens performance, particularly in defence were Stephen Doran had little to do, they were comfortable victors.

The return of Stephen Butler and Alan Browne in midfield after they had missed the previous day’s defeat against Kolos Sekvoia allowed Graham Shaw to push into attack and improved both Glenanne’s attacking and defensive short corners. However, Brendan Parsons missed out after spraining his shoulder in that defeat.

Butler netted two dragflicks in the first 15 minutes but it wasn’t an impressive return from the six that the Tallaght side had won in that period, Patrik Busek having a wonderful game in the Praha goal.

Glens, however, were rampant and were helped by the yellow carding of Lukas Vymazal after persistent fouling from his side. Jonathan Kane took full advantage with a delightful finish from a Paul Fitzpatrick pass after the right back had made the interception.

Further chances were had by Gary Shaw and Butler , who saw two more dragflicks saved by the fearless Busek and it was the trailing side who were happy to hear the half-time hooter.

The second half saw a much better performance from the Slavia however Glenanne were determined to improve their goal difference and give themselves every chance of making the final.

Eddie O’Malley was upended in the circle and Butler stepped forward to convert the penalty stroke for his hatrick while both Johnny Goulding and Mark Lambe failed to take advantage of decent openings.

Graham Shaw finished the scoring with a wonderful counter-attack involving Devin Kehoe and Goulding while Butler sent his final dragflick attempt sailing over the bar.

Glenanne: S Doran, P Fitzpatrick, R Shaw, J Brennan, D Kehoe, Gary Shaw, S Butler , A Browne, E O’Malley, Graham Shaw, J Kane. Subs: M Lambe, E Tucker, C Murphy, J Goulding, D Shaw.

Courtesy of David O'Malley

No comments: